GPS



« We will continue to provide the service of GPS standard positioning for peaceful purposes of civil, commercial and scientific use on a global scale constantly and without imposing direct charges to users. »

Bill Clinton, on March 28, 1996.

What is GPS ?

GPS is a satellite-based navigation system designed to instantly provide information about position, speed and time pratically anywhere on Earth, any time and by any weather conditions.

The designation Navstar GPS means: navigation system by timing and ranking Global Positioning system.

The GPS allows instant positioning with a position which ranges from a hundred meters to a few meters (95% of the cases). Some equipment allow, after delayed corrections of measurements, to attain precisions of the order of centimetre. Of course It is clear that the best performance requires substantial infrastructure and generates higher costs.

A bit of history !

The stages of the development of the GPS:
- 1973, program start under the aegis of the Department of defense (DoD) USA.
- 1974-85, testing of the first receivers, launches the first satellites of the "block I".
- 1983, crash with the Boeing - 747 of Korean Airlines (KAL 007) shot down by a Soviet Mig. The navigation system opens to civilian applications.
- 1986, further development of the system with the launches of satellites of the "block II".
- 1990, on March 25, put according to the SA (Selective Availability).
- 1991, the SA is temporarily disabled during the first Gulf war resulting in a fantastic promotion of GPS.
- 1995, 17 July, the USA announced that GPS system is fully operational.
- 1997, launches of satellites of the "block IIR.
- 2000, may 1, the SA is disabled.

How do GPS work ?

The GPS system has three main components and is based on a network of satellites that emit radio signals :

i) The space component made up (nominally) of 24 satellites in orbit around the Earth (above 20000 km). 21 of these are navigation satellites and 3 are backup satellites. orbits are inclined at 55 ° compared to the plan of Ecuador and their period is approximately 12 hours. This configuration allows a tuner to the surface or above the Earth to receive signals from five to eight satellites, 24 hours per day. The satellites continuously transmit their position and time data, which are received and processed by GPS receivers to determine the three-dimensional position of the user (latitude, longitude, altitude), velocity and time.

ii) The control component consisting of a main control station located in Colorado Springs, five tracking stations and three Earth-based antennas distributed around the land. The tracking stations monitor all GPS satellites in view and gather the data contained in their messages. These remote stations are able to pursue and monitor the position of each of the GPS satellites.The tracking stations transmit the data obtained from satellites to the main control station that then calculates the very precise orbits of the satellites. These data are then formatted as updated navigational messages for each satellite.Updated data are then sent on an uplink to each satellite from Earth antennas. These antennas are used also to transmit and receive signals satellite monitoring and control.

iii) The user component that comprises the receivers.

Satellites emit so-called "carriers" radio waves on two different frequencies L1 at 1.6 GHz and L2 at 1.2 GHz, with wavelengths of 19 and 24 cm, respectively. Two codes are derived from these signals, they are called pseudo-random codes. This is the code p (precise or protected code) on frequencies L1 and L2, usually reserved for the US Army (wavelength of 30 m), It was replaced by a secret code named Y (in 1994) and, the code C/A (coarse/acquisition code) on frequency L1 (wavelength 300 m). The frequency of carrier waves and the sequence of codes are governed by atomic clocks on board satellites. Each of the satellites emits its own pseudo random codes C/A and p. The GPS receiver has in memory the complete list of codes to identify the satellites in which it receives signals. The maximum accuracy that can be obtained by the C/a code (only accessible) is the order of the metre. Therefore, alongside these codes, GPS also use the phase of these radio waves to improve accuracy there are 2 modes of use of the GPS system :
- Absolute positioning or pseudo distance or autonomous mode: it is calculated by the user's receiver which measures the distance between it and the different satellites using the C/A or P codes. This positioning is not very precise, it varies from a few meters to 100 meters. Its main use is marine or terrestrial navigation. We're using the so-called first class GPs.
- Relative or differential positioning: the distance is calculated either from the codes or the phase simultaneously in two stations (receivers). A receiver is fixed, called the station, and the other is mobile.

The result is the vector between these two GPS. This mode allows to correct the sources of error in large part. The accuracy is so improved, reaching up to the subcentimeter. This positioning may be:
- At the delayed time (with a post-processing)
- Real-time: observations of station are sent by radio to the mobile receiver equipment to allow instant correction and accuracy on the ground.

It is used for the precise location and surveys

The signal propagates at the speed of light, is the equation: Distance = travel time x speed of light.

The GPS system subtlety is based on a system of perfectly synchronized atomic clocks and accurate are equipped with the satellite. To know the time taken for the signal to reach the receiver, shall determine when the signal has started to issue. To do this, each satellite generates its own code that must be recognised by the receiver.

It then calculates what is called the phasing-out, i.e. the difference between the signal emitted by the satellite and the same signal reproduced by the receiver. Thus the results of the calculations depend on the accuracy of the clock, since the code must be generated simultaneously by the receiver and the satellite. To compensate for clock offsets of GPS receivers, it is necessary to use the measurements of a fourth satellite to adjust the error of its clock.

How the error correction in relative mode is performed

The main sources of system-related errors are:

- Atmospheric layers (troposphere and ionosphere): they can cause errors on localization results; The radio signal can be delayed or accelerated when it passes through its layers.

- System errors such as satellite trajectory problems (Ephemeris errors) or uncorrected errors of the satellite clock.

- The multi-path , it is encountered in unclear contexts type forest or urban environment. As the trees or buildings are obstacles on the trajectory of the signal, the latter is absorbed, attenuated, reflected or refracted.

- The dilution of precision or DOP: it's the geometrical configuration or geometry formed by the satellites at the time of the transmission. The quality indicator is generally (for devices trimble) PDOP (Position dilution of position) for the position in 3 D. There are others: the HDOP, for the horizontal position, VDOP, for vertical position, TDOP, for time.

Les GPS

mise à jour gps

« Nous continuerons de fournir en permanence le service de positionnement standard GPS à des fins pacifiques d’utilisation civile, commerciale et scientifique à l’échelle mondiale et sans imposer de redevances directes aux utilisateurs. »

Bill Clinton, le 28 mars 1996.

Qu’est que le GPS ?

Le GPS est un système de navigation à base de satellites conçu pour fournir instantanément des informations de position, de vitesse et de temps pratiquement à n’importe quel endroit sur terre, n’importe quelle heure et par n’importe quelles conditions météorologiques.

La désignation NAVSTAR GPS signifie: NAVigation System by Timing and Ranging Global Positionning System.

Le GPS permet un positionnement instantané avec une position qui va d’une centaine de mètres à quelques mètres (95% des cas). Certains équipements permettent, après corrections différées des mesures, d’atteindre des précisions de l’ordre du centimètre. Il est bien clair que les meilleures performances nécessitent une infrastructure conséquente et engendre des coûts plus importants.

Un peu d’histoire !

Les étapes du développement du GPS :
- 1973, début du programme sous l’égide du Departement of defense des USA (DoD).
- 1974-85, essais des premiers récepteurs, lancements des premiers satellites du « block I ».
- 1983, accident avec le Boeing – 747 de Korean Airlines (KAL 007) abattu par un Mig soviétique. Le système de navigation s’ouvre aux applications civiles.
- 1986, poursuite de l’évolution du système avec les lancements des satellites du « block II ».
- 1990, le 25 mars, mise en fonction de la SA (Selective Availability).
- 1991, la SA est momentanément désactivée durant la première Guerre du Golfe ce qui entraîne une fantastique promotion de GPS.
- 1995, 17 Juillet, les USA annoncent que système GPS est pleinement opérationnel.
- 1997, lancements des satellites du « block IIR ».
- 2000, 1er Mai, la SA est désactivée.

Comment fonctionnent les GPS ?

Le GPS repose sur un réseau de satellites qui émettent des signaux radio.

Le système GPS comprend 3 composantes principales :

i) La composante spatiale constituée (nominalement) de 24 satellites en orbite autour de la Terre (20000 km au –dessus). De ces 24 satellites, 21 sont des satellites de navigation et 3 des satellites de secours. Les orbites sont inclinées à 55° par rapport au plan de l’équateur et leur période est d’environ 12 heures. Cette configuration permet à un récepteur à la surface ou au-dessus de la terre de recevoir les signaux de cinq à huit satellites, 24 heures par jour. Les satellites transmettent continuellement leurs données de position et l’heure, qui sont reçues et traitées par les récepteurs GPS afin de déterminer la position tridimensionnelle de l’utilisateur (latitude, longitude, altitude), sa vitesse et l’heure.

ii) La composante de contrôle formée d’une station de contrôle principale située à Colorado Springs, de cinq stations de poursuite et de trois antennes terriennes réparties autour de la terre. Les stations de poursuite surveillent tous les satellites GPS en vue et recueillent les données contenues dans leurs messages. Ces stations éloignées sont capables de poursuivre et de surveiller la position de chacun des satellites du GPS. Les stations de poursuite transmettent les données obtenues des satellites à la station de contrôle principale qui calcule alors les orbites très précises des satellites. Ces données sont ensuite formatées en des messages de navigation actualisés pour chaque satellite. Les données actualisées sont ensuite transmises sur une liaison montante à chacun des satellites à partir des antennes terriennes. Ces antennes servent également à transmettre et à recevoir les signaux de commande et de surveillance des satellites.

iii) La composante utilisateur qui comprend les récepteurs.

Les satellites émettent des ondes radioélectriques dites porteuses sur deux fréquences différentes L1 à 1.6 GHz et L2 à 1.2 GHz, dont les longueurs d'onde sont de 19 et 24 cm, respectivement. Deux codes sont issus de ces signaux, ils sont appelés codes pseudo-aléatoires. Il s’agit du code P (Precise ou Protected code) sur les fréquences L1 et L2, généralement réservé à l’armée américaine (longueur d’onde 30m), il a été remplacé par un code secret nommé Y (en 1994) et, le code C/A (Coarse/Acquisition Code) sur la fréquence L1 (longueur d’onde 300m). La fréquence des ondes porteuses et la séquence des codes sont régies par des horloges atomiques à bord des satellites. Chacun des satellites émet ses propres codes pseudo-aléatoires C/A et P. Le récepteur GPS a en mémoire la liste complète des codes afin d’identifier les satellites dont il reçoit les signaux. La précision maximale pouvant être obtenue par le code C/A (seul accessible) est de l’ordre du mètre. C’est pourquoi, parallèlement, à ces codes, les GPS utilisent aussi la phase de ces ondes radioélectriques afin d’améliorer la précision Il existe 2 modes d'utilisation du système GPS :
- Le positionnement absolu ou la pseudo-distance ou le mode autonome : Il est calculé par le récepteur de l'utilisateur qui mesure la distance entre lui et les différents satellites à l'aide des codes C/A ou P. Ce positionnement est peu précis, il varie de quelques mètres à 100 mètres. Son utilisation principale est la navigation maritime ou terrestre. On l'emploi avec les GPS dits de 1ère catégorie.
- Le positionnement relatif ou différentiel : La distance est calculée soit à partir des codes ou de la phase simultanément en deux stations (récepteurs). Un récepteur est fixe, appelé la station et, l'autre est mobile.

Le résultat est le vecteur entre ces deux GPS. Ce mode permet de corriger en grande partie les sources d'erreur. La précision est ainsi améliorée, pouvant atteindre le subcentimétrique. Ce positionnement peut être :
- En temps différé (avec un post-traitement)
- En temps réel : les observations de la station sont envoyées grâce à un équipement radio au récepteur mobile pour permettre une correction et une précision instantanées sur le terrain.

Il sert à la localisation précise et aux relevés

Le calcul de la distance entre le satellite et le récepteur se fait selon 4 principes :
- L'intersection spatiale ou la trilatération : Il faut 4 satellites minimum pour résoudre les 4 inconnues, X, Y, Z et le temps.
- Le signal se propage à la vitesse de la lumière, soit l’équation :

Distance = Temps de trajet x Vitesse de la lumière

- Un système d'horloge servant à connaître la variable temps de l'équation précédente.

La subtilité du système GPS repose sur un système d’horloges atomiques parfaitement synchronisées et précises dont sont équipés les satellites. Pour connaître le temps mis par le signal pour parvenir au récepteur, ce dernier doit déterminer le moment où le signal a commencé d’émettre. Pour cela, chaque satellite génère son propre code qui doit être reconnu par le récepteur.

Celui-ci calcule alors ce que l'on nomme le déphasage, c'est-à-dire la différence entre le signal émis par le satellite et ce même signal reproduit par le récepteur. Ainsi les résultats des calculs dépendent de la précision de l’horloge, puisque le code doit être généré simultanément par le récepteur et le satellite. Pour pallier aux décalages d'horloge des récepteurs GPS, il est nécessaire d'utiliser les mesures d'un 4ème satellite pour ajuster l'erreur de son horloge.

Comment s’effectue la correction des erreurs en mode relatif

Les principales sources d'erreurs liées au système sont :

- Les couches atmosphériques (troposphère et ionosphère) : elles peuvent engendrer des erreurs sur les résultats de localisation ; le signal radio peut être retardé ou accéléré quand il traverse ses couches.

- Les erreurs du système tel que des problèmes de trajectoire des satellites (erreurs d’éphéméride) ou les erreurs non corrigées de l’horloge du satellite.

- Le multi-trajet, on le rencontre dans des contextes non-dégagés type forêt ou milieu urbain. Les arbres ou les bâtiments étant des obstacles sur la trajectoire du signal, ce dernier est alors absorbé, atténué, réfléchi ou réfracté.

- La dilution de la précision ou DOP : il s'agit de la configuration géométrique ou géométrie que forment les satellites au moment de la transmission. L’indicateur de qualité est d’une manière générale (pour les appareils trimble) le PDOP (Position dilution of position) pour la position en 3 D. Il en existe d’autres : le HDOP, pour la position horizontale, le VDOP, pour la position verticale, le TDOP, pour le temps.